The Bob Thomas Award

Thanks to the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Mark G. Lewitt, a fund has been established at The Spartanburg County Foundation honoring Robert W. Thomas.
Each year, one deserving participant of The First Tee of the Upstate from either Spartanburg or Cherokee Counties will be awarded a scholarship for advanced golf instruction, entries into junior golf tournament and proper equipment.


Bob Thomas (3/26/49 – 5/26/15) was a nationally recognized leader in the hospitality industry,
known for his knowledge, generosity, and friendship.  His passion for the game of golf
was exemplified by his quest is to play “every golf course in the world!”

Congratulations to The 2021 Bob Thomas Award Winners


William Charles Nettles

Logan Mills Shaw & Jonathan Roe

The 2020 Bob Thomas Award Winner
No Award Given Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic

The 2019 Bob Thomas Award Winner
Faith Nanna

Eagle Participant, Faith Nanna

The 2018 Bob Thomas Award Winner
No Award Given

The 2017 Bob Thomas Award Winner
Rodrick Brown

The 2016 Bob Thomas Award Winner
Ashtan Samuel


Congratulations to Bryson Johnson, Owen Jackson, and Dylan Stockwell
for scholarships honoring Pat Crowley!
brysonjohnson owenjacksoncalicutt dylanstockwell

Congratulations to Finalists Grace McDaniel and Dakota Stafford!
gracemcdaniel  dakotastafford

The 2015 Bob Thomas Award Winner
Faith Nanna